Cumbrian Farmer Giles Mounsey-Heysham Wins Prestigious National Award for Farming and Conservation

A Cumbrian Farmer has been recognised by the farming and conservation industry for his outstanding efforts to promote good habitat and environmental management on his farm. Giles Mounsey-Heysham was awarded the highly-coveted ‘Farming and Wildlife Advisory Group National Silver Lapwing Award’, which is now in its 41st year. The award, generously sponsored by Waitrose for the 10th year, recognises farmers who go the extra mile to protect and enhance the countryside in which they farm. Giles was awarded from a national shortlist of seven farms, each selected for demonstrating outstanding commitment to good environmental practices, alongside running successful farm businesses.

The 2018 FWAG Silver Lapwing Award was presented to Giles Mounsey-Heysham on Thursday 21st June 2018 by Charles Beaumont, Silver Lapwing Head Judge, Martin Hole, Silver Lapwing Judge, and Duncan Sinclair, Agriculture Manager for Waitrose. This year the award ceremony was jointly hosted by Suffolk FWAG and the 2017 Silver Lapwing winner Edward Flatt, at Edward’s farm in Suffolk.

Many attendees from all sectors of the British farming and agriculture industry attended the award presentation and lunch. The presentation was followed by a tour of Eastwood Farm, which highlighted some of the reasons why Edward won the Silver Lapwing in 2017. 

Presentation Speakers

Chris Butler – Chairman of the FWAG Association

Charles Beaumont – Silver Lapwing Head Judge

Martin Hole – Silver Lapwing Judge

Gary Rumbold – FWAG SouthWest General Manager

Duncan Sinclair -  Waitrose Agriculture Manager


Farm Walk

After Lunch and the presentation of the 2018 Silver Lapwing Award, a walking tour took guests on a circular route around a portion of Eastwood Farm. The walk showcased some of the features in place and many plant species Edward Flatt has on his farm, highlighting why Edward was awarded the Silver Lapwing Award in 2017.

The farm walk was led by Tim Schofield, FWAG Suffolk Farm Conservation Adviser, who has worked closely with Edward Flatt at Eastwood Farm, and Andrew Cooper, Managing Director at Walnes Seeds.

Silver Lapwing Award Sponsorship

The Silver Lapwing Award was generously sponsored by our main sponsor, Waitrose for the 10th year, as well as Essex and Suffolk Water.



Giles Mounsey-Heysham of Castletown Estate Farms on winning the Silver Lapwing award:

‘I am very honoured to be presented with the Silver Lapwing Award, against such stiff competition. It is a testament to my team at Castletown Estate and this will motivate us to continue our conservation work on the farm. We will be proud to hold the Lapwing for the next year and feel privileged to be part of this award’.


Charles Beaumont, Silver Lapwing Head Judge:

“The competition was very tough this year, however, our winner Castletown Farm is an exceptional example of a Lapwing Award winner. With the challenges of grazing 2500 acres of salt marsh, they have transformed the farm into a wildlife haven as well as a remarkable business. Giles Mounsey-Heysham and his team work tirelessly, their drive is inspirational - a worthy winner”


Duncan Sinclair, Agriculture Manager for Waitrose (the main sponsor of the event):

“This is the 10th year Waitrose has been the principle sponsor of the FWAG Silver Lapwing Awards because they represent the pinnacle when it comes to embracing and nurturing the farmland environment. It is always inspirational to see the work undertaken by the finalists, all of whom are winners in their own right”


Chris Butler, Chairman of the FWAG Association:

“It is truly vital for organisations, such as FWAG, to continue to promote the great work that many farmers do to protect our environment – the Silver Lapwing Awards are a celebration of this. Giles Mounsey-Heysham is an exemplar of how to farm with conservation and business in mind and he has been justly recognised by the judges for all of his hard work. Very pleased we have another worthy winner for the 41st Silver Lapwing Awards”.